days
hrs
min
sec

A museum gift jug

In the art of metalworking, jugs are important ornamental objects of Renaissance. The elegant silhouette of this masterpiece reminds one of the models exhibited in the Renaissance Museum in Ecouen. In many important museums and collections around the world can be found similar jugs.

Artists such as Wenzel Jamnitzer (1507/1508-85) or François Briot (c. 1545-1616) were able to create ornaments and reliefs on goldsmith, silver, bronze and pewter castings with unprecedented mastery. The Temperantia bowl in the Louvre, made by Francois Briot, on which delicate arabesques and grotesques entwine around mythological scenes, is an example of this. Comparable jugs and bowls are also on display in N.Y. at the Metropolitan Museum or at the Victoria & Albert Museum in London.

Museum gift jug from Francois Briot

As a utilitarian object and a work of art, the jug is the work of goldsmiths, engravers and medalists. Decorations inspired by Mannerism cover this elegantly shaped object body. Ram's heads, leaves and rocailles, ribbons, wings, and horned animal heads, mark the body. In the center a coat of arms medallion. Under the beak also stands out a ram's head with pointed horns. The expressive handle, in the form of a dragon grasping a snake and ending in a mannerist maskeron in high relief characterizes this museum gift jug!

Login

Register

  • Minimum length of 8 characters.

    Tiberius Auctions small logo

    tiberius newsletter

    Subscribe to our newsletter to be informed about upcoming auctions.

    Kryptopay

    We accept cryptocurrencies

    New from the 5th Tiberius Auction is that from now on you can pay with cryptocurrencies conveniently and easily with Kryptopay.

    Bitcoin

    Ethereum

    Dash

    Litecoin

    Nimiq

    Ripple

    Stellar

    Cherry

    Bidding form

    With this purchase order, I authorize TIBERIUS AUCTIONS to bid in my name and on my account up to the specified purchase limits or to contact me for a telephone bid during the auction.

40° 33′ 0” N 14° 16′ 0” O

Tage
Std
Min
Sek

Eine museale Schenkkanne

In der Kunst der Metallbearbeitung sind Kannen wichtige Ziergegenstände der Goldschmiedekunst der Renaissance. Die elegante Silhouette dieses Meisterstückes erinnert an eines der Modelle, die im Renaissance-Museum in Ecouen ausgestellt sind. In zahlreichen bedeutenden Museen und Sammlungen weltweit sind vergleichbare Kannen zu finden.

Künstler wie Wenzel Jamnitzer (1507/1508–85) oder François Briot (um 1545–1616) bannten in dieser Zeit in ungeahnter Meisterschaft Ornament- und Reliefdarstellungen auf Goldschmiede-, Silbertreib-, Bronze und Zinngießarbeiten. Die von Francois Briot gefertigte Temperantia-Schüssel im Louvre, auf der sich feingliedrig Arabesken und Grotesken um mythologische Bildszenen ranken, ist ein Beispiel dafür. Auch in N.Y. im Metropolitan Museum oder im Victoria & Albert Museum in London werden vergleichbare Kannen und Schüsseln gezeigt.

Museale Schenkkanne von Francois Briot

Als Gebrauchsgegenstand und Kunstwerk ist die Kanne das Werk von Goldschmieden, Graveuren und Medailleuren. Vom Manierismus inspirierte Dekorationen bedecken diesen elegant geformten Objektkörper. Widderköpfe, Blätter und Rocaillen, Bänder, Flügel, und gehörnte Tierköpfe, zeichnen den Korpus. In der Mitte ein Wappenmedaillon. Unter dem Schnabel hebt sich ebenfalls ein Widderkopf mit spitzen Hörnern ab. Der ausdrucksvolle Henkel, in Form eines Drachen der eine Schlange greift und in einem manieristischen Maskeron im Hochrelief endet charakterisiert diese museale Schenkkanne!

Tiberius Auctions kleines Logo

tiberius newsletter

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter um über bevorstehende Auktionen informiert zu werden.

Kryptopay

Wir akzeptieren Kryptowährungen

Neu ab der 5. Tiberius Auktion ist es, dass Sie von nun ab mit Kryptopay bequem und unkompliziert mit Kryptowährungen bezahlen können.

Bitcoin

Ethereum

Dash

Litecoin

Nimiq

Ripple

Stellar

Cherry

Gebotsformular

Mit diesem Kaufauftrag, beauftrage ich TIBERIUS AUCTIONS, bis zu den angegebenen Ankaufslimits auf meinen Namen und auf meine Rechnung mitzubieten oder mich für ein Telefonisches Gebot während der Auktion zu kontaktieren.